Non-Eats Art

May 13, 2010 at 5:08 pm Leave a comment

It’s true; I actually do create artwork about objects and thoughts unrelated to food. This orchid though is just about pretty enough to eat.

For this painting, I wanted to play with a more fluid, watery look.  One of the many appeals of watercolor is its ability to create a range of textures. I can add salt to dry up bits of liquid and create a sandy look, or use minute amounts of water for a saturated deep color. It’s a joy to get to experiment with this medium! And as you might have noticed, watercolor is my preferred medium despite it being the only type of art material I’ve never had professional instruction. Perhaps that’s part of it’s appeal too!

Spring is here. The flowers are blooming! Irises are my mother’s favorite flower and the deep plums and brilliant violets of this orchid remind me of her irises.

Entry filed under: Illustration.

An apple a day keeps the doctor away Chili Peppers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


(C) Illustrated Eats 2010

If you'd like to use my imagery or text, please contact me. Stealing is not nice. Thank you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to Illustrated Eats and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


